Is the state accusing you of driving with a suspended license? There are several reasons that you may have lost your driving privileges. That doesn’t matter now. Instead, you need to focus on how you’re going to fight against your charges. However, in the Kansas City, MO area, there’s a traffic violation attorney with decades of experience focusing on this specific area of law. Attorney Jeff Jarrett is a lawyer who has helped clients accused of driving with a suspended driver’s license since 1985. He proudly serves clients in any of these areas:

  • Kansas City, MO

  • Jackson County, MO

  • Clay County, MO

  • Johnson County, KS

  • Wyandotte County, KS

  • Leavenworth County, KS

If you have a suspended license in the Kansas City area, it’s difficult to get around. Without a car, you can face issues getting to common destinations like work, grocery stores, or the homes of friends and family. Often, it’s impossible to give up driving without your life taking a serious hit. Instead of facing those kinds of odds, many offenders choose to drive again with a suspended license. It may not be legal, but it’s the only way for them to make ends meet.

If you’re facing charges for driving with a suspended license, you may be curious about your rights. As with any other criminal charge in the US, someone accused of driving with a suspended license has the right to a lawyer. A lawyer can help you defend your rights in court and ensure that you get a fair trial. Ultimately, hiring a lawyer can increase your chances of winning your case. That’s important when you’re facing the kinds of punishments common for suspended license charges.

Call Today to Speak to A Traffic Ticket Lawyer

The first reason you’ll want a traffic violation lawyer is to represent you in court. That’s an extremely important job, and it’s one that you’ll need to complete quickly. If you stand accused of driving with a suspended license, you’ll have a mandatory court appearance in the near future. If you or a lawyer don’t appear in court, the state will issue a warrant for your arrest. However, an attorney can file motions to postpone this court date. During the interim, you may be able to acquire a valid drivers’ license or get the money necessary to pay your fine.

There are several penalties an offender faces if the court convicts them of driving without a license. In Kansas, these penalties include:

  • First offense: Class B misdemeanor. Punishable by up to six months in prison and $1,000 in fines.

  • Subsequent offenses: Class A misdemeanor. Punishable by up to one year in prison and $2,500 in fines.

The state of Missouri punishes these crimes with:

  • First offense: Class D misdemeanor resulting in fines up to $500.

  • Second or third violation: Class A misdemeanor. Punishable by one year in jail and $2,000 in fines.

  • Subsequent violations: Class E felony if the offender has more than three violations in the last 10 years.

However, if you retain a lawyer, you may be able to escape these punishments entirely. That’s why it’s crucial to hire legal help to represent you in court.

Choose a Traffic Violation Attorney You Can Count On

If you’re facing charges for driving without a license and don’t know how to proceed, don’t worry. There’s help. Attorney Jarrett has helped clients with suspended driver's licenses fight for their rights since 1985. His experience gives him the knowledge and background that his clients will need to clear their names. If you need help, don’t wait. Instead, call Jeff today for your free consultation.